University City

The city of Toledo is also a university city. The University of Castile-La Mancha (UCLM), created in 1982, has several buildings in the Castile-Mancha capital and one of the most attractive university areas in Spain: the technology campus of the Fábrica de Armas.

The installation of university life into the Castile-Mancha capital has allowed the combination of knowledge and history once more, as Toledo was internationally known in olden days. Learning and university culture have strongly revitalised various areas of the city in many ways, both inside and outside the city walls.

The educational activity of the university takes place in a range of buildings, from the old Real Fábrica de Armas, next to the Tajo to the Church and Convent of San Pedro Mártir, where hundreds of students attend class every day.

The University of Castile-La Mancha is a regional institution that is divided into four Campuses: Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca and Toledo, and extends its teaching to the towns of Almadén and Talavera de la Reina, as well as Puertollano. The province of Guadalajara and its Campus is attached to the University of Alcalá de Henares.

The creation of the University of Castile-La Mancha has brought with it important social progress on radically democratising access of young people to higher education.

Este sitio usa cookies de navegación, que recogen información genérica y anónima, siendo el objetivo último mejorar el funcionamiento de la web. Si continuas navegando, consideramos que aceptas el uso de cookies. Más información sobre las cookies y su uso en POLITICA DE COOKIES